Then: The Earlier Years


Two-CD Set

This compilation combines the band’s first two albums (They Might Be Giants and Lincoln) with the EP and remix collection Miscellaneous T, with two tracks omitted overall – “(She Was A) Hotel Detective (Single Mix)” and the original album mix of “Don’t Let’s Start” (other versions of these songs exist on the compilation). Added to this were previously unreleased bonus tracks


  1. Everything Right Is Wrong Again
  2. Put Your Hand Inside The Puppet Head
  3. Number Three
  4. Don’t Let’s Start
  5. Hide Away Folk Family
  6. 32 Footsteps
  7. Toddler Hiway
  8. Rabid Child
  9. Nothing’s Gonna Change My Clothes
  10. (She Was A) Hotel Detective
  11. She’s An Angel
  12. Youth Culture Killed My Dog
  13. Boat Of Car
  14. Absolutely Bill’s Mood
  15. Chess Piece Face
  16. I Hope That I Get Old Before I Die
  17. Alienation’s For The Rich
  18. The Day
  19. Rhythm Section Want Ad
  20. We’re The Replacements
  21. When It Rains It Snows
  22. The Famous Polka
  23. Untitled
  24. For Science
  25. The Biggest One
  26. Kiss Me, Son Of God (Alternate Version)
  27. Mr. Klaw
  28. Critic Intro
  29. Now That I Have Everything
  30. Mainstream U.S.A.
  31. Fake Out In Buenos Aires
  32. Greek #3
  33. Hope That I Get Old Before I Die (Original Version)
  34. I’m Def
  35. Don’t Let’s Start (Demo Version)
  36. ‘85 Radio Special Thank You


  1. Ana Ng
  2. Cowtown
  3. Lie Still, Little Bottle
  4. Purple Toupee
  5. Cage & Aquarium
  6. Where Your Eyes Don’t Go
  7. Piece Of Dirt
  8. Mr. Me
  9. Pencil Rain
  10. The World’s Address
  11. I’ve Got A Match
  12. Santa’s Beard
  13. You’ll Miss Me
  14. They’ll Need A Crane
  15. Shoehorn With Teeth
  16. Stand On Your Own Head
  17. Snowball In Hell
  18. Kiss Me, Son Of God
  19. Hello Radio
  20. It’s Not My Birthday
  21. I’ll Sink Manhattan
  22. Nightgown Of The Sullen Moon
  23. The World’s Address (Joshua Fried Remix)
  24. Hey, Mr. DJ, I Thought You Said We Had A Deal
  25. Lady Is A Tramp
  26. Birds Fly
  27. Kitten Intro
  28. Weep Day
  29. The Big Big Whoredom
  30. I’m Gettin’ Sentimental Over You (Adaptation)
  31. Become A Robot
  32. Which Describes How You’re Feeling
  33. Swing Is A Word
  34. Doris Cunningham
  35. Counterfeit Fake
  36. Schoolchildren Singing Particle Man